The Big Four

It’s interesting to note how the Big 8 was cut down into the Big 4. Read how.

The firms were called the Big 8 in the 1970s and 1980s, reflecting the international dominance of the eight largest accountancy firms:

  1. Arthur Andersen
  2. Arthur Young & Company
  3. Coopers & Lybrand
  4. Ernst & Whinney (formerly Ernst & Ernst)
  5. Haskins & Sells (merged with the European firm Deloitte Plender Griffiths to become Deloitte, Haskins and Sells)
  6. KPMG (formed by merger of Peat Marwick International and KMG Group)
  7. Price Waterhouse
  8. Touche Ross

The Big 8 themselves were the results of earlier mergers.

And currently there are only four:

  1. PricewaterhouseCoopers
  2. Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu
  3. Ernst & Young
  4. KPMG

Deloitte latest

1 Comment

  1. Deuts do you have an info on how the big acctg firms in the Phil from the 40s to present have evolved & emerged?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *