Parañaque Chess Open ’09 — Another Photo Op with the Masters

Went to the Parañaque Chess Open ’09 today, not really to join in the tournament (although I would have loved to), but to take some pictures. Another photo op with the young Grandmaster Wesley So.

I recalled four (4) grandmasters participated in the tournament: Wesley So, Bong Villamayor, Mark Paragua and Darwin Laylo (somebody correct me if I missed some other grandmaster/s who was/were in the tourney). Wasn’t able to get the final results, although I heard Wesley So lost the tournament to the defending champion Darwin Laylo by tie-break (everybody is welcome to post the actual/official results in the comments below).


Final standings/rankings (300 participants):

8.0 points—GM Darwin Laylo, GM Mark Paragua, GM Wesley So

7.5 points—Merben Roque, NM Ronald Llavanes, IM Chito Garma, Roel Abelgas

7.0 points—IM Richard Bitoon, Rustum Tolentino, Jerry Areque, Nazario Ubanan, Emmanuel Emperado, Mc Do,imigue Lagula, Harrison Maamo, Ali Branzuela, Deniel Causo, Ryan Dungca, Rodolfo Panopio

6.5 points—GM Bong Villamayor…


  1. ang masasabi ko lang ang gwapo ko sa picture

  2. punta ka sa paranaque sa september 5 sa chess tournament. papayag akong magpapicture kasama ka.

  3. RustumTolentino

    October 27, 2009 at 2:53 am

    meron po ba kayo pic sa awarding? pwedi po ma post..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *